Greek Hoplite Shield, unpainted


Greek Hoplite Shield, unpainted

419.95
Delivery weight: 10 kg


 

MW1123016010

A replica of a Greek Hoplite shield also known as Aspis or sometimes falsely called Hoplon. Shields of this type were carried by the Hoplites (old greek for heavily armed), the infantry of the ancient greek armies.

The shield is cicular with a diameter of approx. 96 cm and a circumference of approx. 300 cm. It is made of plywood with a thickness of approx. 3 cm, was completey covered with canvas and hand-primed in white. Thus, the owner is able to paint the shield individually and decorate it with e.g. a capital Lambda as the symbol for the historic city state of Sparta, a small owl for Athens or a sphinx for Thebes. The shield's rim is approx. 9,5 cm wide, the inner bulge is approx. 79 cm in diameter.

Due to its weight of approx. 10 kg, the shield was held on the forearm with the so-called Porpax, here a brass tube, through which the forearm was shoved. Secondly the shield was held with the Antilabe, a finger-thick cord attached to inner rings in an hexagon, which served as a handle or was wrapped around the hand.


Details:
- Material: laminated wood, primed, unpainted.
- Diameter: approx. 96 cm.
- Curvature: approx. 10 cm.
- Thickness: approx. 3 cm.
- Weight: approx. 10 kg.

Shipping time: 7 to 14 Days.

Browse these categories as well: Categories, Romans and Greeks, New products, Armor parts, Shields, Round shields, Shield brutes from wood and shield building accessories, Shields

Griechischer Hopliten-Schild, unbemalt, 96 cm


Griechischer Hopliten-Schild, unbemalt, 96 cm

419,95
Versandgewicht: 10 kg


 

MW1123016010

Ein Nachbau eines griechischen Hoplitenschildes, Aspis oder manchmal fälschlicherweise Hoplon genannt. Schilde dieses Typs wurden von den Hopliten (altgr. Schwerbewaffnete, Gerüstete) getragen, der Infanterie der altgriechischen Heere.

Der Schild ist kreisrund bei einem Durchmesser von ca. 96 cm und einem Umfang von ca. 300 cm. Gefertigt ist er aus gebogenem Schichtholz mit einer Stärke von ca. 3 cm, wurde vollständig mit Segeltuch bespannt und von Hand weiß grundiert. So ist der Besitzer in der Lage, die Bemalung des Schildes individuell vorzunehmen und ihn z.B. mit einem großen Lambda-Buchstaben als Symbol für den historischen Stadtstaat Sparta, einer kleinen Eule für Athen oder einer Sphinx für Theben zu verzieren. Der Rand des Schildes ist ca. 9,5 cm breit, die innere Wölbung misst ca. 79 cm im Durchmesser.

Gehalten wird der Schild aufgrund seines Gewichtes von ca. 10 kg erstens am Unterarm mit dem sogenannten Porpax, einer hier aus Messing geformten Röhre, durch welche der Unterarm geschoben wird, und zweitens an der Antilabe (altgr. für Gegenhalt), einer an innenliegenden Ringen im Sechseck angebrachten, fingerdicken Kordel, welche als Haltegriff diente oder um die Hand geschlungen wurde.


Details:
- Material: Schichtholz, handbemalt.
- Durchmesser: ca. 96 cm.
- Wölbung: ca. 10 cm
- Materialstärke: ca. 3 cm.
- Gewicht: ca. 10 kg.

Lieferzeit: 7 bis 14 Tage.

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Kategorien, Griechen und Römer, Neue Produkte, Rüstzeug, Schilde, Rundschilde, Schildrohlinge aus Holz und Schildbauzubehör, Schilde