Roman Podlodów Type Spatha w. Scabbard, 3rd c., Decoration Sword

136.46
Delivery weight: 1.4 kg


 

MW0116201100

This Roman spatha is a reconstruction based on several original 3rd c. examples found near Podlodów (now Poland), in the archaeological region of the Przeworsk culture. A few more blades of the Podlodów type were also found along or near the Limes, the border of the Roman Empire. It is assumed that most of these spathae originated from Roman smithies and had eventually found their way beyond the Empire's boundaries to the Barbaricum.

Although the blade length was not much different from its earlier counterparts, this particular spatha variant featured a broader blade with typically two to four fullers and is believed to have been designed as an effective cutting sword for close-quarters fighting.

The broad, double-fullered and double-edged blade of the Roman longsword we offer here is forged out of EN45 spring steel. The edges are not sharpened and the blade's full tang is screwed to the pommel. The hilt with flattened, oval-shaped guard and pommel and octagonal grip is made of wood with brass inlays.

This Roman one-handed sword comes complete with a red wood-and-leather scabbard with brass chape and suspension loop (max. belt width 5 cm), accented with black cord trimmings.

Please note that this sword is not a battle ready weapon. It is designed as a collector's or decoration/display piece and is not suited for combat reenactment. Besides its quality as a collectible, it is also perfectly suited as a prop, e.g. to complete your costume.


Details:
- Material: EN45 spring steel blade (high carbon steel, not stainless), wooden hilt with brass inserts.
- Overall length: approx. 89 cm.
- Blade length: approx. 73 cm.
- Blade thickness: approx. 4.8 mm / 3.8 mm (cutting edges approx. 1 mm).
- Hilt length: approx. 16 cm (grip approx. 10 cm).
- Max. blade width: approx. 4.8 cm.
- Point of balance: approx. 17.5 cm from the guard.
- Incl. wooden scabbard with genuine leather cover, brass fittings and cord trim.
- Weight without scabbard: approx. 1.1 kg.
- Weight with scabbard: approx. 1.4 kg.

Shipping time: 7 to 14 Days.

Browse these categories as well: New products, Romans and Greeks, Deco swords, Roman Weaponry, Weaponry

Römische Spatha Typ Podlodów m. Scheide, 3. Jh., Dekoschwert

136,46
Versandgewicht: 1,4 kg


 

MW0116201100

Diese römische Spatha ist eine Rekonstruktion, die auf mehreren originalen Fundstücken aus dem 3. Jh. basiert. Die Originale wurden nahe Podlodów (im jetzigen Polen), auf dem archäologischen Gebiet der Przeworsk-Kultur gefunden. Ein paar weitere Podlodów-Klingen wurde auch entlang oder in der Nähe des Limes, der Außengrenze des Römischen Reiches, ausgegraben. Es wird angenommen, dass diese Spathae größtenteils aus römischen Schmieden stammten und irgendwann ihren Weg jenseits des Reiches ins Barbaricum gefunden hatten.

Obwohl sie sich in Sachen Klingenlänge kaum von ihren Vorgängern unterschied, besaß diese besondere Spatha-Variante, die vermutlich als effektives Hiebschwert für den Nahkampf konzipiert worden war, eine breitere Klinge mit üblicherweise zwei bis vier Hohlkehlen.

Das hier angebotene Römerschwert besitzt eine breite, zweischneidige Klinge aus Federstahl EN45 mit doppelter Hohlkehle. Die Schneiden sind nicht geschärft und die durchgehende Klingenangel ist am Griffende verschraubt. Das Heft mit abgeflachtem, ovalem Knauf und Parierstück und achtkantigem Griffstück ist aus Holz und Messing gefertigt.

Geliefert wird der römische Einhänder samt roter Holz-/Lederscheide mit Ortband und Riemendurchzug aus Messing (max. Riemenbreite 5 cm) und Verzierungen aus schwarzem Kordel.

Es wird darauf hingewiesen, dass dieses Schwert nicht schaukampftauglich ist. Es ist als Sammlerstück bzw. Dekorationsobjekt konzipiert und auch als Requisit hervorragend geeignet, z.B. zur Vervollständigung Deines Kostüms.


Details:
- Material: Klinge aus Federstahl EN45 (Karbonstahl, nicht rostfrei), Heft aus Holz mit Messingeinlagen.
- Gesamtlänge: ca. 89 cm.
- Klingenlänge: ca. 73 cm.
- Klingenstärke: ca. 4,8 mm / 3,8 mm (Schneidkanten ca. 1 mm).
- Grifflänge: ca. 16 cm (Griffpartie ca. 10 cm).
- Max. Klingenbreite: ca. 4,8 cm.
- Schwerpunkt: ca. 17,5 cm vor dem Parier.
- Inkl. Holzscheide mit Bezug aus echtem Leder, Messingbeschlägen und Kordelwicklung.
- Gewicht ohne Scheide: ca. 1,1 kg.
- Gewicht mit Scheide: ca. 1,4 kg.

Lieferzeit: 7 bis 14 Tage.

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Neue Produkte, Griechen und Römer, Dekoschwerter, Römer Waffen, Waffen