Medieval Shrewsbury Sword, 15th C., Practical Blunt, SK-B

167.65
Delivery weight: 2.1 kg


 

MW0116332806

On the 21st of July 1403, the Battle of Shrewsbury (Shropshire, England) saw the victory of Henry IV of England over an army led by his former supporter, Sir Henry Harry Hotspur Percy of Northumberland (made forever famous by Shakespeare in his 1598 history play Henry IV Part I). Percy, who had turned against the king and allied himself with Owain Glyndwr, the rebel leader of the Welsh Revolt of 1400-1415 (also known as Glyndwr Rising), was killed during the fray, leading his army to disperse and the rebellion to fall apart.

Named after this decisive battle, the original Shrewsbury Sword, classified as a Type XV by Ewart Oakeshott, is kept in the Wallace Collection.

Although this beautiful, good value sword is not a replica of the above-mentioned historical example, it features the typical characteristics of a traditional late 14th / early 15th century one-and-a-half-handed sword (also called bastard sword) and is patterned after the same swords that would have been used on both sides in this great English battle.

The double-edged blade is forged out of hardened and tempered EN45 spring steel. It has a diamond cross-section, gently tapers towards the point and is fullered on both sides. The broad central fuller ends about halfway down the blade. The thick edges are not sharpened, the tip is rounded off and the blade's full tang is riveted to the pommel.

The hilt is composed of wooden core grip wrapped in brown leather, a faceted, hexagonal scent-stopper pommel made of steel and a flattened steel cross guard. The guard's quillons have flared terminals, each decorated with a cross-shaped cut-out. The pierced guard is about 23 cm long and 0.5 cm thick.

This late medieval hand-and-a-half sword comes complete with a brown wood-and-leather scabbard with steel throat and chape.

This is the battle ready version of the Shrewsbury Sword. The blade's blunt, 1.5 mm / 2 mm thick edges and rounded tip make this sword ideal for light combat reenactment, stage fighting or sparring.
The same sword is also available as a regular, decorative version with thinner (unsharpened) edges and pointed tip (Product No. MW0116332818).


Details:
- Practical blunt version for combat reenactment.
-Battle-ready Sword Category : SK-B.
- Material: EN45 spring steel (high carbon steel, not stainless), steel guard and pommel, leather- wrapped wooden handle.
- Overall length: approx. 116 cm.
- Blade length: approx. 89 cm.
- Hilt length: approx. 24 cm (grip approx. 19 cm).
- Max. blade width: approx. 5.5 cm.
- Point of balance: approx. 16 cm from the guard.
- Cutting edges: approx. 1.5 / 2 mm.
- Incl. wooden scabbard with genuine leather cover and steel fittings.
- Weight without scabbard: approx. 1.6 kg.
- Weight with scabbard: approx. 2.1 kg.

Shipping time: 7 to 14 Days.

Browse these categories as well: New products, Middle Ages weapons, Swords (Suitable for exhibition fight)

Mittelalterliches Shrewsbury Schwert, 15. Jh., Schaukampf, SK-B


Mittelalterliches Shrewsbury Schwert, 15. Jh., Schaukampf, SK-B

139,90
Versandgewicht: 2,1 kg


 

MW0116332806

Die Schlacht von Shrewsbury (Shropshire, England) am 21. Juli 1403 endete mit dem Sieg von Heinrich IV. von England über eine von seinem früheren Anhänger Sir Henry Harry Hotspur Percy von Northumberland geführte Armee. Percy (von Shakespeare 1598 im ersten Teil seines Historien-Dramas Henry IV verewigt) hatte sich gegen den König gewandt und mit Owain Glyndwr, dem Anführer der walisischen Rebellion von 1400-1415 verbündet. Als Percy in der Schlacht fiel, ging sein Heer auseinander. Somit war der Aufstand gescheitert.

Das originale, nach dieser entscheidenden Schlacht benannte Shrewsbury Schwert, das von Ewart Oakeshott als Type XV klassifiziert wurde, ist Teil der Wallace Collection.

Dieses schöne, preiswerte Schwert ist keine exakte Nachbildung des o.g. historischen Originals. Allerdings besitzt es die typischen Merkmale eines traditionellen Anderthalbhand-Schwertes (auch Bastardschwert genannt) aus dem 14./15. Jahrhundert und ist den Schwertern nachempfunden, die höchstwahrscheinlich auf beiden Seiten dieser großen englischen Schlacht geschwungen wurden.

Die zweischneidige Klinge ist aus gehärtetem, wärmebehandeltem Federstahl EN45 geschmiedet. Sie hat einen rautenförmigen Querschnitt, verjüngt sich sanft zum Ort hin und ist beidseitig gekehlt. Die breite Hohlkehle verläuft mittig über etwa die Hälfte der Klingenlänge. Die ungeschärften Schneiden sind besonders dick und die durchgehende Klingenangel ist am Griffende vernietet.

Das Gefäß besteht aus einem Griff mit Holzkern und brauner Lederwicklung, einem sechsfach facettierten Pfropfen-Knauf aus Stahl und einer abgeflachten Parierstange, ebenfalls aus Stahl. Die Enden des Parierstücks sind aufgeweitet und jeweils mit einem ausgeschnittenen Kreuz verziert. Die Parierstange ist ca. 23 cm lang und 0,5 cm stark.

Geliefert wird der spätmittelalterliche Anderthalbhänder samt brauner Holz-/Lederscheide mit Mund- und Ortblech aus Stahl.

Dies ist die schaukampftaugliche Ausführung des Shrewsbury Schwertes. Mit seinen stumpfen, ca. 1,5 mm / 2 mm starken Schlagkanten und seiner abgerundeten Spitze eignet sich das Schwert perfekt zum Reenactment, bzw. leichten Schaukampf oder Sparring.
Das gleiche Schwert ist auch als reguläre, dekorative Version mit dünneren (ungeschärften) Schneiden und spitzem Ort erhältlich (Artikelnr. MW0116332818).


Details:
- Stumpfe Version für den Schaukampf.
- Schaukampf-Qualitätsklasse: SK-B
.
- Material: Klinge aus Federstahl EN45 (Karbonstahl, nicht rostfrei), Parier und Knauf aus Stahl, Griffstück aus Holz mit Lederwicklung.
- Gesamtlänge: ca. 116 cm.
- Klingenlänge: ca. 89 cm.
- Grifflänge: ca. 24 cm (Griffpartie ca. 19 cm).
- Max. Klingenbreite: ca. 5,5 cm.
- Schwerpunkt: ca. 16 cm vor dem Parier.
- Schneiden: ca. 1,5 / 2 mm.
- Inkl. Holzscheide mit Bezug aus echtem Leder und Stahlbeschlägen.
- Gewicht ohne Scheide: ca. 1,6 kg.
- Gewicht mit Scheide: ca. 2,1 kg.

Lieferzeit: 7 bis 14 Tage.

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Neue Produkte, Mittelalter Waffen, Schwerter (Schaukampftauglich)