Roman Long Spatha with Scabbard, 2nd c., Decoration Sword

144.26
Delivery weight: 1.45 kg


 

MW0180001600

This spatha is not a one-to one replica of an actual historical piece, but a reconstruction based on original finds from the late 2nd c. now kept at the Limesmuseum in Aalen (Baden-Württemberg, southwest Germany).

As from the late 2nd c. AD, the long Roman spatha gradually started to supersede the shorter gladius. By the 3rd c., it had already become the standard weapon of the imperial Roman legionaries and auxiliaries and was also commonly used by gladiators. The exact origins of the spatha as well as the reasons why it replaced the efficient, highly feared gladius so quickly during the mid to late Roman Empire are still very much debated among historians, archaeologists and Ancient Rome enthusiasts alike until today. Although spathae are commonly believed to be of Celtic descent and to have owed their fast popularity to changes in fighting techniques and military tactics in both the Roman infantry and cavalry, the lack of reliable sources on the subject unfortunately often leads to speculations and over-simplifications of a much more complex reality.

The long, double-edged blade of the Roman long sword we offer here is forged out of EN45 spring steel (not tempered, not hardened). The edges are not sharpened and the blade's full tang is screwed to the pommel (brass top nut). The hilt with semi-circular guard and pommel is entirely made of wood.

This Roman one-handed sword comes complete with a brown wood-and-leather scabbard with brass throat, chape and suspension loop (max. belt width 5.5 cm). The most distinctive feature of this sheath is obviously the decorative, oversized round plate used as end piece (also known as disc chape or pillbox chape).

Please note that this sword is not a battle ready weapon. It is designed as a collector's or decoration/display piece and is not suited for combat reenactment. Besides its quality as a collectible, it is also perfectly suited as a prop, e.g. to complete your costume.


Details:
- Material: EN45 spring steel blade (high carbon steel, not stainless), wooden hilt.
- Overall length: approx. 100.5 cm (with scabbard approx. 105 cm).
- Blade length: approx. 82.5 cm.
- Blade thickness: approx. 4.5 mm / 2.6 mm (cutting edges approx. 1 mm).
- Hilt length: approx. 18 cm (grip approx. 9.5 cm).
- Max. blade width: approx. 4.5 cm.
- Point of balance: approx. 27 cm from the guard.
- Incl. wooden scabbard with genuine leather cover and brass fittings.
- Diameter of the scabbard's disc chape: approx. 11 cm.
- Weight without scabbard: approx. 0.9 kg.
- Weight with scabbard: approx. 1.45 kg.

Shipping time: 7 to 14 Days.

Browse these categories as well: New products, Romans and Greeks, Weaponry, Deco swords, Roman Weaponry

Römische Spatha, Langschwert mit Scheide, 2. Jh., Dekoschwert

144,26
Versandgewicht: 1,45 kg


 

MW0180001600

Diese Spatha ist keine Eins-zu-eins-Nachbildung eines historischen Vorbildes, sondern eine Rekonstruktion, die auf Originalfunden aus dem 2. Jh. basiert. Diese Fundstücke gehören zur Sammlung des Limesmuseums in Aalen, Baden Württemberg.

Ab dem ausgehenden 2. Jh. n. Chr. fing die lange römische Spatha an, den kürzeren Gladius nach und nach abzulösen. Im 3. Jh. hatte sie sich bereits zur Standardwaffe der kaiserlichen römischen Legionen und Auxiliartruppen entwickelt und wurde auch von Gladiatoren verwendet. Der genaue Ursprung der Spatha sowie die Gründe, weshalb sie in der mittel- / spätrömischen Kaiserzeit den effizienten, hoch gefürchteten Gladius so rasch verdrängte, werden bis heute unter Historikern, Archäologen und Liebhabern des antiken Roms vieldiskutiert. Obwohl vielfach angenommen wird, dass Spathae keltischer Abstammung sind und ihre schnelle Popularität dem Wandel der Kampftechniken und Militärtaktiken in der römischen Infanterie und Kavallerie zu verdanken hatten, führt der Mangel an verlässlichen Quellen zu diesem Thema leider oft zu Mutmaßungen und allzu starken Vereinfachungen eines viel komplexeren Ganzen.

Das hier angebotene Römerschwert besitzt eine lange, zweischneidige Klinge aus Federstahl EN45 (weder gehärtet, noch wärmebehandelt). Die Schneiden sind nicht geschärft und die durchgehende Klingenangel ist am Griffende verschraubt (Gewindemutter aus Messing). Das Heft mit halbkreisförmigem Knauf und Parierstück ist vollständig aus Holz gefertigt.

Geliefert wird der römische Einhänder samt brauner Holz-/Lederscheide mit Mundblech, Ortband und Riemendurchzug aus Messing (max. Riemenbreite 5,5 cm). Das auffallende Merkmal dieser Scheide ist offensichtlich die dekorative, überdurchschnittlich große, runde Platte oder Scheide am unteren Ende (auch Dosenband genannt).

Es wird darauf hingewiesen, dass dieses Schwert nicht schaukampftauglich ist. Es ist als Sammlerstück bzw. Dekorationsobjekt konzipiert und auch als Requisit hervorragend geeignet, z.B. zur Vervollständigung Deines Kostüms.


Details:
- Material: Klinge aus Federstahl EN45 (Karbonstahl, nicht rostfrei), Heft aus Holz.
- Gesamtlänge: ca. 100,5 cm (ca. 105 cm mit Scheide).
- Klingenlänge: ca. 82,5 cm.
- Klingenstärke: ca. 4,5 mm / 2,6 mm (Schneidkanten ca. 1 mm).
- Grifflänge: ca. 18 cm (Griffpartie ca. 9,5 cm).
- Max. Klingenbreite: ca. 4,5 cm.
- Schwerpunkt: ca. 27 cm vor dem Parier.
- Inkl. Holzscheide mit Bezug aus echtem Leder und Messingbeschlägen.
- Durchmesser des Dosenortbandes: ca. 11 cm.
- Gewicht ohne Scheide: ca. 0,9 kg.
- Gewicht mit Scheide: ca. 1,45 kg.

Lieferzeit: 7 bis 14 Tage.

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Neue Produkte, Griechen und Römer, Waffen, Dekoschwerter, Römer Waffen