Ligula, Roman Spoon, Brass

11.69
Delivery weight: 16 g


 

MW1916758200

Ancient Roman spoons are commonly classified in two main types:
While the cochlearium (pl. cochlearia) had a smaller bowl (also called head) and a straight handle tapering into a sharp point, the larger, heavier ligula (pl. ligulae) featured a rather generously sized, often oval bowl and a handle with rounded end or finial.

Archaeologists believe that ligulae may have been used at times as eating spoons, but were rather primarily designed to plate and serve food. Numerous finds have furnished evidence that these serving spoons were used over many centuries. Various excavations unearthed a broad range of specimens of many different shape variations, crafted from a wide variety of materials - from plain to elaborate pieces made of wood, bone or metal. As some silver and bronze examples were found as grave goods, it is assumed that these finer versions were objects of prestige rather that everyday utensils.

This reproduction of a ligula with deep, almond-shaped bowl (oval with slightly pointed tip) is made of brass. It has a stepped bowl/handle transition and the just barely tapered handle terminates in a small ball knop. This nice piece of Roman cutlery lends itself perfectly for Living History purposes and is a great addition to any Roman reenactor's equipment.


Details:
- Material: brass.
- Overall length: approx. 14.5 cm.
- Bowl dimensions: approx. 5.1 cm long / 2.1 cm wide (at broadest point).
- Weight: approx. 16 g.

Shipping time: 7 to 14 Days.

Customers who bought this product also bought

Delivery weight: 2.93 kg
Roman Pugio suspension, pair, brass
20.46 / pair(s) *
Delivery weight: 50 g
Delivery weight: 0.45 kg
Delivery weight: 5 g
Delivery weight: 5 g
Delivery weight: 7 g
Delivery weight: 23 g

Browse these categories as well: New products, Romans and Greeks, Camp life, Accessories, Cutlery, Wooden Bowl, Wood Mug & Accessories

Ligula, Römischer Löffel aus Messing


Ligula, Römischer Löffel aus Messing

11,95
Versandgewicht: 16 g


 

MW1916758200

Im Allgemeinen lassen sich die Löffel der römischen Antike in zwei Grundtypen unterteilen:
Während der Cochlear (Pl. Cochlearia) eine kleinere Löffelschale (sog. Laffe) und einen geraden, zugespitzten Stiel mit scharfem Ende besaß, zeichnete sich die meist größere, schwerere Ligula (Pl. Ligulae) durch eine eher großzügige, oft ovale Laffe und einen Stiel mit abgerundetem Ende oder Zierknopf aus.

In archäologischen Kreisen wird angenommen, dass Ligulae zwar zuweilen als Speiselöffel, aber in erster Linie eher zum Anrichten und Servieren verwendet wurden. Zahlreiche Funde belegen, dass diese Vorlege- bzw. Servierlöffel über mehrere Jahrhunderte in Gebrauch waren. Bei Ausgrabungen wurden Variationen in den unterschiedlichsten Formen und Materialien zu Tage gefördert - von schlicht bis aufwändig gestaltet, aus Holz, Knochen oder Metall. Die Tatsache, dass manche Silber- und Bronzeausführungen als Grabbeigaben gefunden wurden, spricht dafür, dass diese edleren Varianten oft keine Alltagsutensilien sondern Prestigeartikel waren.

Diese Reproduktion eines Ligula-Löffels mit tiefer Mandelformlaffe (oval ausgeformter Schale mit leichter Spitze) ist aus Messing gefertigt. Der Übergang zwischen Laffe und Stiel ist stufenförmig, und der sich nur leicht verjüngende Stiel schließt mit einem kleinen kugelförmigen Zierknopf ab. Dieses schöne Stück römischen Bestecks ist für Living-History-Zwecke hervorragend geeignet und eine schöne Ergänzung zur Ausstattung eines jeden römischen Reenactors.


Details:
- Material: Messing.
- Gesamtlänge: ca. 14,5 cm.
- Maße der Laffe: ca. 5,1 cm lang / 2,1 cm breit (an breitester Stelle).
- Gewicht: ca. 16 g.

Lieferzeit: 7 bis 14 Tage.

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Kategorien, Neue Produkte, Griechen und Römer, Lagerleben, Zubehör, Besteck, Holzteller, Holzbecher & Zubehör